Thursday, June 11, 2009

India v Ireland – Irish taste their first defeat in T20by the hands of World Champion

A super and clinical performance by the team India gave them an easy win over Ireland to complete their Group stage games. Fine unbeaten half-century by Rohit Sharma and a fine 37 runs by Gautam Gambhir helped India beat Ireland by eight wickets.

Other star performer of the match was Zaheer Khan who bowled his heart out to take four crucial Irish wickets. Chasing the target of 113 runs for victory India never seems in any discomfort during their run chase and in the end achieved the target with 2.3 overs to spare.

Earlier due to rain game was reduced to 18 overs per side. M.SDhoni won the toss and rightly elected to bowl first in cloudy condition. Zaheer Khan started the proceeding for India and bowled exceptionally well to come out with figure of 4/19 in his three over spell. P.Ojha continued his good form with ball by picking up two wickets in his quota of four overs.

Only A.White (29 runs of 25 balls) and J.Mooney (19 runs of 22 balls) able to spend some time in the middle and put on valuable partnership of 24 runs for the seventh wicket.

Zaheer Khan was declared Player-of-the-Match for his outstanding bowling figure of 4/19 in his three overs.

Match Summary (India won by 8 Wickets)

Ireland – 112/9 in 18 Overs

A.White- 29 J.Mooney –19

Z.Khan– 3-0-19-4 P.Ojha- 4-0-18-2

India – 113/2 in 15.3 Overs

Rohit Sharma- 52* Gautam Gambhir–37

R. West – 4-0-23-1 W.McCallan- 3.3-0-28-1

Check out India v Ireland - T20 World Cup Photographs

No comments:

Post a Comment