Tuesday, June 2, 2009

New Zealand Beat India in Twenty20 Warm-up Game

India squandered a rollicking start and lost the plot towards the end as they went down to New Zealand by nine runs in a warm-up match ahead of the World Twenty20 at Lord's on Monday.

Daniel Vettori and his team beat T20 World Champions India by 9 runs in the warm-up game at Lords. Brilliant bowling performance by Daniel Vettori and superb batting by James Franklin made the difference in the end.

Chasing the target of 171 runs to win, India got off to flying start with the new opening pair Rohit Sharma (36 runs of 20 balls) and Gautam Gambhir (14 runs of 15 balls). Gambhir didn’t looks in great touch though and finally dismissed by Ian Butler.

However Rohit Sharma continued to play his natural game, stroking all around the park. The big moment came when New Zealand captain dismissed both Rohit Sharma and M.S.Dhoni (6 runs of 4 balls) in his very first over. First Dhoni was stumped by B.McCullum and then Rohit Sharma failed to read Vettori spinning ball as he was played down.

New Comer Ravinder Jadeja (41 runs of 41 balls) and Suresh Raina (45 runs of 24 balls) put on 69 runs of just 46 balls for the fourth wicket to bring India right back into the match. Suresh Raina got out at crucial moments of the game in the 15th over and from there onwards it’s all New Zealand.

Although India were playing this game without some of their key players (Yuvraj and Sehwag). However a game that can be won easily has lost and now India have to really think in their bowling department. Their bowlers R.P.Singh and I.Pathan conceded 31 runs in the last two overs and from my point of view that made the difference in the match.

Earlier after winning the toss Indian captain M.S.Dhoni put New Zealand into bat at beautiful Lord’s Cricket Ground. New Zealand team didn’t get the start as per their linking as Jesse Ryder looks out of touch through out his stay at the crease. Ishant Sharma bowled Jesse Ryder to open his account.

B.McCullum (31 runs of 19 balls) continued his style of batting and smashed few boundaries before getting out on the bowling of Ishant Sharma. M.Guptil also didn’t last longer who has been stumped beautifully by M.S.Dhoni on the bowling of P.Ojha.

At 73/4 at half way stage New Zealand team looking in difficult situation but thanks to Ross Taylor (41 runs of 33 balls) and Scott Styris (29 runs of 19 balls) innings. Both manage to put quick-fire 42 runs of just 29 balls. However Harbhajan Singh removed dangerous looking Ross Taylor at the right time.

Despite of Styris and Taylor heroics New Zealand were struggling to reach 150 run marks in the end. However allrounder James Franklin (27 runs of 10 balls) and Nathan McCullum (18 runs of 14 balls) has other idea as both manage to collect 31 runs in the last two overs of their innings. First it was Irfan Pathan who gave away 15 runs in the 19th over and then R.P.Singh conceded 16 runs in his last overs.

Match Summary (New Zealand won by 9 runs)

New Zealand – 170/7 in 20 Overs

R.Taylor- 53* J.Franklin –27*

I.Sharma – 4-0-25-4 H.Singh– 4-0-22-1

New Zealand – 161/6 in 20 Overs

S.Raina- 45 R.Jadeja –41*

D.Vettori – 3-0-24-3 J.Oram– 3-0-18-1

No comments:

Post a Comment